When Can I Retake a Failed ARE Exam?

Check out the video above for a verbal explanation! 

When can I retake my failed Architect Registration Exam?

60 days is the time frame you must wait before you can retake a failed ARE exam. 

You are only allowed to fail the same exam 3 times within a 12 month period. 

If this happens, you’ll have to wait until it’s been 12 months from when you first took that exam before you can take it a 4th time.

What is NCARB’s Rolling Clock?

When you pass an exam, it is valid for 5 years. After that time it will expire and need to be retaken.

To complete NCARB’s ARE 5.0 all exams must be within a 5 year time frame. 

NCARB’s Rolling Clock is the time you have left to complete the remaining exams. 


Michael Riscica

Michael Riscica is a Licensed Architect, Founder and Head Coach of the ARE Boot Camp Coaching Program & Online Study Group.

Hi I’m Michael Riscica.

My goal is to help as many people as I can PASS their exams and succeed in their architecture careers.

This is accomplished with the following offerings:

Free FB group that is 12k+ members strong
Low-cost, high-value upcoming webinar
Affordable and Quality ARE Study materials
Professional Development and Powerful Networking
Premium 10-week ARE study program